Skip to content

Dan in Real Life

April 18, 2008

I am a big Steve Carell fan. I watch the Office and am excited that it is back. I have been looking forward to seeing this movie for a while and then I heard that it is actually good so we rented it. I will make the rest of this post after we watch it and see if my enthusiasm is justified or not.

Erin’s comment was that “It wasnt about what I thought it was going to be about.” I kind of agree with that. I was expecting it to be all at his house and getting through every day life or “Real Life” if you will but it was about this extended holiday at his parents house in Rhode Island.

I think my real problem with this movie is that although it was supposedly set in Rhode Island, there was no mention of Quahog, and last time I checked that is pretty much the only real town in Rhode Island. If you don’t know what I am talking about click here for some education. 

Overall I would say that it was a pretty good movie. Different than I was expecting but a good date movie for sure. It was extremely clean and I would have no qualms about recommending it to anyone. However, if you are looking for an in depth analysis of the characters (they were appropriate if a bit stereotypical) or the script (enjoyable if a bit slow) or the acting (cast perfectly all around, even Dane Cook who I was worried would annoy me and didn’t) then you have come to the wrong place. But if you are looking for something short and sweet to let you know if you should see a movie, then you are already done. And now I have nothing else to say but finishing before the end of the picture would look weird.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

